The Changing Landscape of Connecticut's Drug Policy

Topics

Opioid Drug Abuse Laws

- James Orlando, OLR
- Eileen Lawlor, LCO

Drug Penalty Changes Michelle Kirby, OLR

Recreational Marijuana

o Angela Rehm, LCO

Opioid Drug Abuse Laws

- Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
- Access to Opioid Antagonists
- Prescription Limits
- Sober Living Homes
- Other



Source: Office of the Chief Medical Examiner. Data does not include pure alcohol intoxications. 2018 total is projected.

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

 Collects prescription data on most controlled substances into a centralized online database, to

present a complete picture of a patient's controlled substance use



Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (cont.)

2013: Required Scope of Reporting

- Expanded to cover (1) out-of-state pharmacies that ship drugs into the state and (2) any other drug dispensing practitioner
- Certain exemptions added (e.g., hospital inpatients) (<u>PA 13-172</u> and <u>PA 13-108</u>)

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (cont.)

2013 and 2015: Increased Frequency of Reporting

• By end of next business day (still weekly for veterinarians) (<u>PA</u> <u>13-172</u> and <u>PA 16-43</u>)

2015: Prescribers' Required Review of Patient Records

- When prescribing more than a 72-hour supply of a controlled substance
- Every 90 days for prolonged treatment (annually for schedule-V non-narcotics) (<u>PA 15-198</u> and <u>PA 16-43</u>)

Opioid Antagonists

Prescription drugs such as Naloxone (e.g., Narcan) that counteract the effects of opioid overdoses



Access to Opioid Antagonists

2012: Third-Party Prescriptions

• <u>PA 12-159</u> allowed prescribers to prescribe or dispense opioid antagonists to anyone (e.g., family members) to prevent or treat an overdose

• 2015: Prescriptive Authority for Pharmacists

• <u>PA 15-198</u> allowed pharmacists to prescribe opioid antagonists if they meet certain requirements (e.g., training and certification program)

Access to Opioid Antagonists (cont.)

2016: Local EMS Plans

• Plans must require that at least one EMS provider who is likely to arrive first at a medical emergency carry an opioid antagonist and be trained on how to administer it (<u>PA 16-43</u> and <u>PA 17-131</u>)

• 2017: Standing Order for Pharmacies

• <u>PA 17-131</u> allowed a prescribing practitioner to issue a standing order to a pharmacist for opioid antagonists

• 2018: Local Agency Program

• <u>PA 18-166</u> allowed prescribers to enter into agreements with specified agencies (e.g., law enforcement) to distribute and administer opioid antagonists

Limits on Opioid Drug Prescriptions

Maximum Supply of Opioid Drugs

• **Seven-day** supply for an **adult** for first-time outpatient use (PA 16-43)

- Five-day supply for minors under age 18 (PA 17-131)
- Larger supply permitted to treat an acute medical condition, chronic pain, cancer-associated pain, or for palliative care

Limits on Opioid Drug Prescriptions (cont.)

• 2017: Voluntary Non-Opioid Directive Form PA 17-131

• 2018: Prescriptions to Self or Family PA 18-166

- Schedule II to Schedule IV drugs generally not permitted
- 72-hour supply exception

Sober Living Homes

Regulatory Overview

- Definition
- No licensure, but homes must comply with local requirements, such as zoning and fire safety codes
- Fair Housing Act and Americans With Disabilities Act protections

Sober Living Homes (cont.)

Connecticut's Voluntary Registration Program

- Operators of sober living homes certified by the National Alliance for Recovery Residences (NARR) may report a home's certified status to DMHAS (PA 18-171)
- DMHAS list of certified homes and number of available beds at each home

Sober Living Homes (cont.)

Program Requirements

- Opioid antagonists on-site
- Advertising and marketing
- DMHAS disclosure



Studies/ Working Groups – Various acts

Recent Drug Penalty Changes



Recent Measures In Connecticut

- **1**. Decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana
- 2. Reduced criminal penalties for certain drug convictions
- **3.** Reduced penalties for drug-free zone violations
- 4. Expanded Good Samaritan law

Decriminalization Possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana

<u>PA 11-71, §§ 1-5</u>

Marijuana possession

Changed from possible prison term to a fine

Drug paraphernalia possession

Changed from a crime to an infraction

Violator under age 21

Imposed a 60-day suspension of driver's license or 150 days ineligibility after meeting licensing requirements

Decriminalization and Legalization of Marijuana



Created with mapchart.net ©

New Penalty Structure

Possession of half an ounce or more of marijuana or any amount of another illegal drug

PA 15-2, JSS created a new penalty structure that:

- Punishes this offense as a class A misdemeanor rather than a felony
- Allows the court to:
 - suspend prosecution for a second offense and order treatment for a drug-dependent person
 - punish third-time or subsequent offenders as persistent offenders (class E felony penalties)

Drug-Free Zone

• <u>PA 11-71</u>

 Eliminated mandatory minimum sentences for possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana (and related drug paraphernalia) within a zone

• <u>PA 15-2, JSS</u>

- Removed mandatory minimum prison term for possession of half an ounce or more of marijuana or any quantity of other illegal drugs within a zone
- Classified this crime as a class A misdemeanor (imprisonment, probation, and community service)

Good Samaritan Law

PA 11-210 prohibits the prosecution of individuals who in good faith seek or receive emergency medical care for themselves or another person they reasonably believe is experiencing an overdose from the ingestion, inhalation, or injection of intoxicating liquor or any drug or substance

Recreational Marijuana

Drafting Legislation for the Retail Sale of Marijuana

Legislative Considerations

- **1**. Separate scheme from existing medical marijuana program
- 2. Legal age for consumer
- **3. Possession limits**
- 4. Form of marijuana and limitations on different formulas
- 5. Grow your own—what are the revenue implications? How does this factor into possession limits?
- **6**. Under which agency for regulatory purposes?
- 7. Regulation of sellers, growers, and producers—including licensure and location/zoning decisions

Legislative Considerations

- 8. Revenue—in what form? Sales tax? Gross receipts tax? Excise tax? How will taxes be paid to Department of Revenue Services in a cashonly economy?
- 9. Public Safety—Driving under the influence (DUI), law enforcement resources
- 10. Public Health—Potential increased adolescent use, public smoking
- **11**. Timeframe and effective date for implementation
- 12. Other considerations—hemp cultivation, education and preventive measures, state/federal considerations, workplace issues, landlord/tenant issues

Questions

LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDE: <u>HTTPS://WP.CGA.CT.GOV/LIB/2018-ISSUES-</u> <u>CONFERENCE-DRUG-POLICY</u>

Presenters James Orlando, OLR Eileen Lawlor, LCO Michelle Kirby, OLR Angela Rehm, LCO

> Issues Conference 2018

